Neli Vazquez Rowland on Illinois State Transportation Tollway Board of Directors

Illinois Senate Executive Committee Votes Unanimously to Appoint Neli Vazquez Rowland to the Illinois State Transportation Tollway Board of Directors

Illinois Senator Tony Munoz, Chairman of Senate Confirmation Committee and Neli Vazquez-Rowland, President of A Safe Haven Foundation


May 22, 2017, Chicago, Illinois—On Monday, May 22, 2017, Neli Vazquez Rowland passed Illinois Senate Confirmation Hearings held in Springfield, Illinois and received a unanimous vote to serve on the Illinois Tollway Authority Board of Directors. Vazquez Rowland will bring over 20 years of leadership and service to this appointment, and will add great value on advocacy and policy initiatives impacting Illinois Tollway Authority.  As the president and co-founder of A Safe Haven Foundation, her diverse background in finance, general contracting, social and economic development, along with her extensive experience as a public servant will position her to be a qualified resource and asset to the team.

“I am sincerely thankful to Illinois Senate Confirmation Members and Chairman of the Senate Confirmation, Senator Tony Munoz for their support, and the Chairman of Illinois Transportation Committee, Illinois Senator Martin Sandoval, for hosting her in his office while in Springfield, Illinois. I look forward to working with Senator Sandoval as the State’s Transportation Chair, along with fellow Illinois Tollway Board Members, state leaders, engineers, construction companies, and community stakeholders to make Illinois Toll Roads and the State the best transportation hub in the country.  I equally look forward to joining the Board, and will do my part to contribute to an agency that is focused on keeping our State and our people moving forward.  And, I am truly honored by the trust that Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner conferred on my leadership ability to serve, and I take this responsibility very seriously, and thank him for his continued confidence,” said Neli Vazquez Rowland.