Honorary Host Committe for 2016 5K Run Announced


A Safe Haven is Proud to Announce 2016 Honorary Host Committee of 6th Annual 5K RUN! To End Homelessness

Chicago, IL –July 2, 2016A Safe Haven Foundation is excited to announce the growing list of Honorary Host Committee Member for the 6th Annual 5k RUN! To End Homelessness. The event is set to take place on Sunday, July 10th and will once again be held in historic Douglas Park. A Safe Haven is elated to over 100 elected officials from across the State of Illinois will be part of the committee, showing their commitment to the issue of homelessness and supporting those in crisis served by A Safe Haven including men, women, families and our military veterans.


“It is truly an honor to have so many elected officials show their support for this event. Every year the 5K RUN! To End Homelessness is our largest event, bringing together elected officials, athletes, A Safe Haven alumni, and supporters of our mission and model from across the State of Illinois.  Poverty and homelessness are growing issues in our city; by standing in solidarity we show all our homeless residents that their voices matter, and that we are committed to truly instigating change that will make a lasting positive impact in their lives. Thank you so much to all leaders and runners alike for joining the fight to end homelessness, we look forward to running and supporting alongside you on race day”, said Neli Vazquez Rowland, President of A Safe Haven.


5K RUN! To End Homelessness

The Honorary Host Committee takes an active role in supporting the 5K Run! To End Homelessness in many ways, such as serving as RUN! Team Captains as well as recruiting family, friends, associates and constituents alike to join in the fun while supporting a vital cause. All committee members encourage individuals from across the state to run, walk or stand with them to show support for those living in poverty and experiencing homelessness. To register to run, to join a team, or to receive more information on the 5K RUN! To End Homelessness on July 10th, please visit www.runtoendhomelessness.org.


Honorary Host Committee Members A Safe Haven is proud to be joined by Honorary Host Committee Chairman, Governor Bruce Rauner, Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti, United States Congressional District Representatives: Danny Davis, Adam Kinzinger, Robert Dold, Rodney Davis, Randy Hultgren, Mike Quigley, Jan Schakowsky Illinois General Assembly Senators: Daniel Biss, Michael Noland, Karen McConnaughay, Dan McConchie, Kyle McCarter, Matt Murphy, Julie Morrison, Melinda Bush, Jennifer Bernio-Tarrant, Jacqueline Collins, Michael Connelly, Thomas Cullerton, Dan Duffy, Napoleon Harris, Mattie Hunter, Toi Hutchinson, Kimberly Lightford, Andy Manar, Iris Martinez, Kyle McCarter, John Mulroe, Antonio Munoz, Jim Oberweis, Christine Radogno, Sue Rezin, Martin Sandoval, Ira Silverstein, Heather Steans, Patricia Van Pelt, Mayor of Melrose Park: Ronald Serpico, Illinois General Assembly Representatives: Jaime Andrade Jr., Mark Batinick, Avery Bourne, Dan Brady, Peter Breen, Ron Sandack, David McSweeney, Debra Conroy, Cynthia Soto, Katherine Cloonen, Barbara Currie, Scott Drury, Jim Durkin, Laura Fine, La Shawn Ford, Robyn Gabel, Greg Harris, Elizabeth Hernandez, Jeanne Ives, Thaddeus Jones, Lou Lang, Linda Chapa LaVia, Rita Mayfield, Christian Mitchell, Thomas Morrison, Robert Rita, Carol Sente, Cynthia Soto, Ed Sullivan, Arthur Turner, Litesa Wallace, Lawrence Walsh, Emanuel Chris Welch, Keith Wheeler, Alderman: Walter Burnett Jr., George Cardenas, Jason Ervin, Joe Moore, Ricardo Munoz, Michael Scott Jr., Nicholas Sposato, Patrick Thompson, Gilbert Villegas, States Attorney Anita Alvarez, City Clerk Susana Mendoza, Cook County Board of Review Commissioner Dan Patlak, Cook County Board Commissioners: John Daley, Peter Silvestri, Bridget Gainer, Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, Robert Steele, Larry Suffredin, Tim Schneider Cook County Clerk David Orr, Cook County Recorder Karen Yarbrough, Dupage County Coroner Dr. Richard Jorgensen, Clerk of the Circuit Court Dorothy Brown, Comptroller Leslie Munger, Cook County Sheriff Thomas Dart, Northfield Township Road District Highway Commissioner Peter Amarantos.