Announcing 2015 Honorary Host Committee of 5k RUN! To End Homelessness

A Safe Haven is Proud to Announce 2015 Honorary Host Committee of 5th Annual 5K RUN! To End Homelessness 


Chicago, IL – June 19, 2015 A Safe Haven Foundation is proud to announce the Honorary Host Committee of the 5th Annual 5k RUN! To End Homelessness on July 12th in Chicago’s beautiful and historic Douglas Park. Governor Bruce Rauner will serve as the Chairman of the 2015 Honorary Host Committee. We are excited that over 90 honorable elected officials from across the State have agreed to stand, walk, and run in solidarity of ending homelessness in the State of Illinois, especially for our veterans.

“I am overwhelmed with joy to see so many elected officials from across the state supporting this event and coming together to help us end homelessness, especially veteran homelessness . The 5K RUN! is our signature annual event. Being able to bring so many supporters to the heart of North Lawndale sends a clear message to our residents, the community, and the city at large- people living in poverty are not forgotten. Thank you so much to the leaders that are taking up this fight alongside us; we look forward to seeing everyone on race day,” said President, Neli Vazquez Rowland.


5K RUN! To End Homelessness

The Honorary Host Committee is taking an active role in supporting the event in many ways such as, serving as Team Captains for a 5K team and inviting family, friends, and supporters to join the fun on July 12th. They encourage individuals from across the state to stand, run, or walk with them to end homelessness by joining their teams or creating their own teams for the event. To join them or to join their teams and to support your local elected official at the 5K RUN! To End Homelessness on July 12th, please visit for more information on registration and the day’s events.


Honorary Host Committee Members A Safe Haven is proud to be joined by Honorary Host Committee Chairman, Governor Bruce Rauner, Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti, United States Congressional District Representatives: Danny Davis, Rodney Davis, Mike Quigley, Peter Roskam, Jan Schakowsky Illinois General Assembly Senators: Daniel Biss, Melinda Bush, Jennifer Bernio-Tarrant, Jacqueline Collins, Michael Connelly, John Cullerton, Thomas Cullerton, William Delgado, Dan Duffy, Napoleon Harris, Mattie Hunter, Toi Hutchinson, Dan Kotowski, Kimberly Lightford, Andy Manar, Iris Martinez, Kyle McCarter, Julie Morrison, John Mulroe, Antonio Munoz, Michael Noland, Jim Oberweis, Christine Radogno, Martin Sandoval, Ira Silverstein, Heather Steans, Dave Syverson, Patricia Van Pelt, Illinois General Assembly Representatives: Jaime Andrade Jr., Dan Brady, Kelly Cassidy, Katherine Cloonen, Debra Conroy, Jerry Costello, Barbara Currie, Scott Drury, Ken Dunkin, Jim Durkin, Marcus Evans, Laura Fine, Robyn Gabel, Greg Harris, Thaddeus Jones, Lou Lang, Linda Chapa LaVia, Rita Mayfield, Margo McDermed, Christian Mitchell, Anna Moeller, Thomas Morrison, Michelle Mussman, Robert Rita, Carol Sente, Elgie Sims, Cynthia Soto, Arthur Turner, Litesa Wallace, Lawrence Walsh, Emanuel Chris Welch, Ann Williams, Sam Yingling, Alderman: Edward Burke, Walter Burnett Jr., George Cardenas, Michael Chandler, Jason Ervin, Brian Hopkins, Joe Moore, Ricardo Munoz, Ariel Reboyras, Michael Scott Jr., Nicholas Sposato, Patrick Thompson, Scott Waguespack, States Attorney Anita Alvarez, City Clerk Susana Mendoza, Cook County Board of Review Commissioner Dan Patlak, Cook County Board Commissioners: John Daley, Bridget Gainer, Robert Steele, Larry Suffredin, Cook County Clerk David Orr, Cook County Recorder Karen Yarbrough, Clerk of the Circuit Court Dorothy Brown, Cook County Sheriff Thomas Dart.