5K Run Honorary Host Committee

Honorary Host Committee Announced for 7th Annual 5K RUN! To End Homelessness



Chicago, IL (June 23, 2017)— A Safe Haven Foundation is excited to announce a growing list of dedicated Honorary Host Committee Members for the 67h Annual 5k RUN! To End Homelessness. The event is set to take place on Saturday, July 15th with a brand new course on Chicago’s beautiful Montrose Harbor. A Safe Haven is grateful to the dozens of elected officials from across the State of Illinois who have made a commitment to help solve homelessness and poverty in city, state, and nation. Each and every dollar raised from the run will go towards supporting A Safe Haven’s integrated, holistic programs that serve men, women, children, youth, and veterans in crisis.


“It is truly humbling to garner the support of so many honorable elected officials. Each year, the 5K RUN! To End Homelessness is our largest event, bringing together elected officials, athletes, A Safe Haven alumni, and supporters of our mission and model from across the State of Illinois. Despite the media focus on crime and violence, we know that poverty and homelessness are the real issues. By standing in solidarity, our elected officials show the city that we are mutually committed to making a lasting positive impact in the lives of those in crisis. Thank you so much to the leaders and runners alike for joining the fight to end homelessness! We look forward to running alongside you on race day,” said Neli Vazquez Rowland, President of A Safe Haven.


5K RUN! To End Homelessness

The Honorary Host Committee takes an active role in supporting the 5K Run! To End Homelessness in many ways, such as serving as RUN! Team Captains as well as recruiting family, friends, associates and constituents alike to join in the fun while supporting a vital cause. All committee members encourage individuals from across the state to run, walk or stand with them to show support for those living in poverty and experiencing homelessness. To register to run, to join a team, or to receive more information on the 5K RUN! To End Homelessness on July 15th, please visit www.runtoendhomelessness.org.


A Safe Haven is proud to be joined by Committee Co-Chairs: Governor Bruce Rauner and First Lady Diana Rauner, Honorary Host Committee Members: Lieutenant Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti United States Congressional District Representatives: Danny Davis, Rodney Davis, Robin Kelly, Adam Kinzinger, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Darin LaHood, Mike Quigley, Jan Schakowsky, Illinois General Assembly Senators: Daniel Biss, Melinda Bush, Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant, Jacqueline Collins, Michael Connelly, John Cullerton, Thomas Cullerton, Toi Hutchinson, David Koehler, Kimberly Lightford, Andy Manar, Iris Martinez, Kyle McCarter, Karen McConnaughay, Julie Morrison, John Mulroe, Antonio Munoz, Jim Oberweis, Christine Radogno, Sue Rezin, Ira Silverstein Martin Sandoval, Heather Steans, Patricia Van Pelt, Mayor of Melrose Park: Ronald Serpico, Illinois General Assembly Representatives: Jaime Andrade Jr., John D’Amico, Luis Arroyo, Mark Batinick, Avery Bourne, Daniel Burke, Kelly Burke, Kelly Cassidy, Debra Conroy, Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Fred Crespo, Barbara Currie, Scott Drury, Anthony DeLuca, Jim Durkin, Sara Feigenholtz, Laura Fine, Mary Flowers, LaShawn Ford, Robyn Gabel, David Harris, Greg Harris, Elizabeth Hernandez, Jeanne Ives, Thaddeus Jones, Lou Lang, Linda Chapa LaVia, Michael Madigan, Theresa Mah, Natalie Manley, Margo McDermed, David McSweeney, Christian Mitchell, Thomas Morrison, Al Riley, Robert Rita, Carol Sente, Justin Slaughter, Cynthia Soto, Arthur Turner, Keith Wheeler, Anna Williams, Illinois Supreme Court Justice Anne Burke, Alderman: Walter Burnett Jr., Willie Cochran, Jason Ervin, Brian Hopkins, David Moore, Joseph Moore, Ricardo Munoz, Milly Santiago, Nicholas Sposato, Gilbert Villegas, Scott Waguespack, States Attorney Kimberly Foxx, City Clerk Anna Valencia, City Deputy Clerk Rodrigo Carillo, Cook County Board of Review Commissioner Dan Patlak, Cook County Board Commissioners: Luis Arroyo Jr., Bridget Gainer, Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, Tim Schneider, Peter Silvestri, Larry Suffredin, Cook County Clerk David Orr, Clerk of the Circuit Court Dorothy Brown, Comptroller Susana Mendoza, Cook County Sheriff Thomas Dart.