All Fundraising Proceeds will Benefit Homeless Veterans Residing at A Safe Haven


 Chicago, IL. (November 12, 2014). A Safe Haven Foundation (ASHF) SOLD OUT 20th Anniversary and Inaugural Gala is happening on Saturday, November 15, 2014, 7:00 P.M. – 10:00 P.M. at the Marriot Hotel in Oak Brook, IL. The funds raised at this event will go directly to help homeless veterans residing at ASHF throughout the Chicagoland area.

Since, 1994 Neli and Brian Rowland have embarked on a mission to help the homeless. Originally A Safe Haven started out as a personal charity project and as a way to give back, inspired by a personal experience. Today A Safe Haven is a social enterprise that is lauded as one of the most successful vertically integrated models addressing and solving poverty and serves as a National and International Model. Since inception, A Safe Haven has helped the vast majority of over 65,000 people, including men, women and children and youth from many backgrounds, including thousands of Military Veterans achieve sustainable self-sufficiency.

Invited guests include many top business, civic and elected officials. The evening will feature guest speaker Evelyn Sanguinetti, incoming Illinois Lieutenant Governor and William Walsh, CEO/Founder of Powerteam International will serve as the evenings Master of Ceremonies. The Keynote Speaker is president and co-founder of ASHF, Neli Vazquez Rowland. Music will be provided by Jose Cornier Jazz Band and Apollo Theater Winner, Laura Bretan. The event will also feature Silent and Live Auction events.

“I am thankful for all who are helping us celebrate 20 years of honoring the mission of addressing and solving poverty and homelessness in a sustainable manner! I am excited to celebrate and enjoy a once-in-a-life-time event and opportunity to thank and gather some of the most wonderful people in the world who share the vision and have played a role, whether big or small over the years, in making ending poverty and homelessness a priority and a reality for our own neighbors in America,” said Neli Vazquez Rowland, President A Safe Haven Foundation.

“We’ve known the co-founders, Neli and Brian Rowland, since the early years when they first started A Safe Haven – over 20 years ago. Since its inception, A Safe Haven has been an inspired trailblazer in helping individuals in our state move past the experiences that left them homeless to become productive and contributing members of their communities. We applaud Neli and Brian in their unwavering passion to continue to pull together the community in their work to end homelessness,” said Governor -Elect Bruce Rauner and Diana Rauner.

A Safe Haven Foundation’s 20th Anniversary Gala Co-Chairs include A Safe Haven Advisory Board Members: William Walsh, Steven Hartenstein, Bill Durkin, Dorothy Falkiewicz, James Feldman, Erik Foster, Robert Kauffman, Harold Washington, and Norma Zambrano.

The A Safe Haven 20th Anniversary Gala Sponsors include: Enova, UPS, Baxter International Inc, and many others. To see more of our committed sponsors, please visit our website

A Special thank you for the generous donation made by Governor Elect Bruce Rauner and Diana Rauner.